Tuesday, June 8, 2010

Kathmandu University

Kathmandu University (KU) is the second oldest university in Nepal and was established in 1991 with the motto "Quality Education for Leadership". The University operates through its six Schools of Science, Engineering, Management, Arts, Education and Medical Sciences and from various premises in Dhulikhel, Lalitpur and Bhaktapur. KU is very highly regarded in Nepal as well as abroad for its excellent academics.

Kathmandu University provides quality education in different streams of arts, sciences and management through the following six schools.

1.School of Arts
2.School of Education
3.School of Engineering
4.School of Management
5.School of Medical Sciences (KUSMS, formerly known as KUMS)
6.School of Science
Each school has several programs and courses in it. The School of Medical Sciences (KUSMS) has the most number of students. The school was formerly known as KUMS, but a decision in 2006 changed its name officially to KUSMS, with the view that the school not only trains medical graduates and postgraduates but also runs various paramedical disciplines.